Eight teams compete in Phuket Cricket Sixes

31 Mar 2011

Twenty-four teams from eight countries around the world will fly into Phuket to compete in island’s International Cricket Sixes. The event will be played at Karon Stadium, Phuket, Thailand from 12 – 17 April 2011.

Teams from India, Pakistan, Australia, Thailand, Kuwait, Malaysia, Bahrain, and Singapore will participate in the six-day event which gets underway with a Beach Cricket tournament.

Thirteen clubs teams from Australia will be making their way to Phuket for the ‘fun in the sun’ sports event, making Australia the highest represented country to participate in the tournament.

Last year’s defending Cup champions Gauhati Town will be returning from India to defend their title.

Organiser of the Asian Cricket Sixes Tour, Michael Maher, said that eight was a lucky number and it’s the eighth sixes. The event has grown to become one of the largest international sports tournaments to he held on the island.

Competing teams and spectators will enjoy a full schedule of activities including a Beach Cricket tournament, welcome party, floodlit Twenty20 match and Gala Awards Dinner in addition to the four day, six-a-side cricket tournament.

Funds raised during the Sixes will support the growth of junior cricket in Phuket and the development of a new cricket ground on the island.

Tags: phuket cricket sixes tournament

blog comments powered by Disqus


Phuket weather and Thailand exchange rates